About Temple | Sumatra | West Java | Central Java & Yogyakarta | East Java | Bali
Temples in Bali
Unlike temples in Java, temples in Bali (called pura), become parts of the life of Balinese who mostly are Hindu. Balinese temple is a place of worship for Hindu. Each Hindu family has family temple to worship Hyang Widhi and their ancestors, so that there are thousands of temples in the island of Bali. 

Kahyangan Desa Temple. Each village generally has three main temples called Pura Tiga Kahyangan or Pura Tri Kahyangan (temples of three nirvanas), i.e. temples to the worship of Sang Hyang Widi Wasa in three manifestations of power: Desa Temple to the worship of Brahma (the Creator), Puseh Temple to the worship of Vishnu (the Preserver), and Dalem Temple to the worship of Shiva (the Destroyer). Desa (village) Temple is also called Bale Agung, because the temple, which is usually located at village center, also serves as a venue for village consultative meeting. 

Kahyangan Jagat Temple. Kahyangan Temple is a place where common people worship Ida Sang Hyang Widi Wasa in various manifestations and ancestral spirits. Included in Pura Kahyangan Jagat category is Sad Kahyangan Temple (sad = six), i.e. a temple situated in six major Kahyangan in Bali. Sad Khayangan Temples consists of: Pura Luhur Uluwatu, Pura Lempuyang, Pura Goa Lawah, Pura Watukaru, Pura Bukit Pengalengan and Pura Besakih. Pura Sad Kahyangan is believed to be the spiritual vein of for Bali and a center for religious practices. Also included in the category of kategori Pura Kahyangan Jagat, in addition to Pura Sad Kahyangan, is Pura Dhang Kahyangan, i.e. a temple built by spiritual leaders in the past. Pura Luhur Uluwatu is also a Pura Dhang Kahyangan that was built in the 15th century by Dhang Hyang Nirartha.

Pura Luhur. Nearly all districts in Bali have Pura Luhur (luhur = high), i.e. temple whose anniversary is celebrated by followers by staging a piodalan (ceremony) that involves thousands of people. Pura Tanah Lot, Goa Lawah, and Pura Uluwatu belong to this category.

Pura Kawitan. This temple is a place of worship for family or descendants of a particular leader. Temples belonging to this category are: Sanggah-Pemerajan, Pratiwi, Paibon, Panti, Dadia or Dalem Dadia, Penataran Dadia, and Pedharman.

Pura Swagina. This temple is a place of worship for people with particular livelihoods or occupations, for example Pura Melanting for merchants, Pura Subak for farmers, etc. 
About Temple | Sumatra | West Java | Central Java & Yogyakarta | East Java | Bali
Situs ini dibangun oleh Perpustakaan Nasional Republik Indonesia
Untuk Kongres Pustakawan se-Asia Tenggara (CONSAL)